DESTINY AND MMORPG’S

3

May 10, 2013 by misterblank22

destiny_bungie-game-logo

IT’S YOUR DESTINY TO PLAY DESTINY SO FOLLOW YOUR DESTINY

When Destiny was first announced I was extremely excited. Bungie had been dormant for such a long time that I feared the company collapsed since Halo was no longer holding them up, but I was wrong. Destiny appears to be on the same creative level as Halo in its style and ambitious ideas. The art is simply stunning which is something any gamer has come to expect from Bungie but its ideas almost outweigh that.

destiny12Destiny is said to be like the ever popular MMORPG genre which will unfortunately bring raging gamers into your living with greater ease now which brings me to Next Gen hardware. Rumors are swirling about the next generation XBOX; most I do not want to believe. The worst rumor is that the console requires you to be “always online” which would be the largest downfall since SimCity. If Destiny follows in the trend of always online then be prepared to deal with crashes and having your game simply not load. If this is the case then Destiny will unfortunately fail which would be horrible for Bungie since this is their first game since Halo.

 xl_Destiny-Artwork-Soldier2-62An MMORPG is an interesting genre that would thrive if internet connections were at equal speeds in all countries and if servers were managed better. Destiny is listed as being single player also but if it is like most games nowadays you will only get rewards when connected. Will Destiny be like that I do not know but I feel it may fall into several holes that other games like this have dug. For one the popularity will die after a while and replaying alone sounds like it may defeat Destiny’s purpose so the game will not be everlasting. This is where games are failing in modern times, going back to relive a memory with your favorite game is almost obsolete due to the MMO format. I feel leaderboards are a great idea that should be implemented more than rewarding you for killing your friend. I love to try to beat scores and to gain the highest rank. The MMORPG genre is expanding though so I do feel everything may even out soon.

Bungie-Destiny-Leak_11-27

3 thoughts on “DESTINY AND MMORPG’S

  1. StorySmitten says:

    Wonderful read, loved the “IT’S YOUR DESTINY TO PLAY DESTINY SO FOLLOW YOUR DESTINY”

  2. First of all I want to say terrific blog! I had a quick question in which I’d like to ask if you don’t
    mind. I was interested to find out how you center yourself
    and clear your mind before writing. I’ve had a tough time clearing my thoughts in getting my thoughts out there.
    I truly do enjoy writing however it just seems like the first 10 to
    15 minutes are generally wasted simply just trying to figure out how to begin. Any suggestions or tips?
    Many thanks!

Leave a Reply

